top of page

La Prima Vedere: Seen Zoned, A Message Awaiting Reply

La Prima Vedere..

My Latest Production, one of my bests in my opinion, has been sent to a bunch of labels. This is somewhat difficult to reflect upon as It could take a month for labels to get back to me. BUT! I have struck contact with one of the labels contacted.. though it wasn’t the result I was hoping for..

This was the conversation between myself and the label '100% Silk'. Silk has been a favorite electronic music labels of mine for a while, I have been inspired by the works released under this name and decided to send through my music in hopes to get some feedback. As you can see from the message above, at this moment Silk has not responded to me. Though my message arrived the label and their response was personal, I haven't been contacted since that moment.

There are a few things I can take away from this.

1. My Song Wasn’t Good

I honestly think this is the most likely of the three.. I personally feel as though the track isn't up to scratch to be sent to labels in the first place (which is a result of me using my own art for uni, would not advise).

2.I didn’t adapt my message to her laid back style.

She might have taken my serious message as a sign of someone who wouldn’t match the mood / atmosphere of the label. Labels within electronic music are often small, tight nit groups of friends or colleagues that have a certain atmosphere behind them. If I didn’t match this mood / attitude from my communications I could have broken my chance to get feedback. This is by far the least likely of all three but it is a possibility.. Not to say that Silk follows this way of working, just speculation at this point.

3. She just hasn’t gotten back to me.

This is very likely, Although she responded within a minute or two of me sending the initial email, Silk might have been busy. Lost reception on her phone? Put the song into a que and will get around to playing it? Or she just got inundated with emails or work that she couldn’t get back to me? Or she loved it but wants to sit with the song for a bit longer before getting back to me.

Honestly, each of these different outcomes could be plausible. The main thing I have taken away from this, is to be ready. I am unsure about the song myself, so how could a label get behind it if I am only at 70-80% myself. Though I am sending out a "Demo" track, without any following or audience to my music, I would need to sell my song by itself.

There isnt much more I can say or do with such little response from all the labels.

An update will arrive If I ever get a response.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page