top of page

Ink & Icing: Final Reflection

Hello Blog!

Recently I worked with Jasmine Wake, An SAEQ Design Student to create some album artwork for me. While discussing details, she asked if I was able to give her permission to use some of my music for a new Advert she was directing. I thought, Jasmine was constantly creating great content for me so why don’t I return the favor and create some music specifically for her project, so I did! Below is the Advert I scored, Enjoy!

When I first started this project, I was a little clueless on what to create. Jasmine was asking for my music, only being aware of my venture into Synthwave, so I decided to try and adapt my synthetic styled music into her advert. Though as we got talking about the music, she brought up the idea of making something similar to Shooting Star by Bag Raiders.

This was exciting for me to attempt but quickly fell short. After the first rendition of the score, the tonality of the track was off. I feel as though this came down to myself trying to re-create a song that already exists without considering the context. I was falling short as you could imagine, Shooting Star being a massively successful and catchy song I wasn’t able to re-create its magic. I decided to try my own route. I felt like the score needed to be a bit more murky, a bit less "upbeat and blissful" and more "moody and colourful". This was the end result.

I am incredibly happy with the end result, not only did it satisfy Jasmine it also matched the atmosphere I was trying to create for the Advert. I feel like this came down to constant communication between myself and jasmine. We both were updating each other making sure we were up to date and aware of each process the other was doing. It also in a way was a mutual understanding of each others talents and abilities (not that I would say I have any talent) but she was capable of letting me take creative control as it were with the score and create what I felt was appropriate. This process suits my work flow tremendously, if you were to compare the first demo (taking inspiration from Shooting Star) and the final outcome (my own creative endeavor) the distance travelled is tremendous.

To say the least, I am very happy with the outcome. As always working with Jasmine is rewarding, although this is her last trimester, I picture myself going to her for commissioned work if need be in the future. On a final note, My piece of music has been changed for the final release of the project. This is a move that is past me, and frankly doesn’t bother me. I created the piece of work for it, If the Advert needs the song to be filtered more or detuned or anything, it has to be done.

Thank you for reading!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page